top of page
Search

My New Favorite Thing

These are difficult times for everyone. Amid the worry, confinement, and calamity caused by COVID-19, we are also met with the persistent, unrelenting injustice Black people face in the United States of America. There is a lot going on. But as we reflect, take action, and mourn during these times, it is important to find joy where we can. When we can, we have to smile, laugh, and try to make the best of the situation that we have both found ourselves in and have been put in.

One thing I have noticed and appreciated during this time is the amount of creativity that has been cultivated. After coming to terms with what is going on, people have found ways to get around the limits that are on our everyday lives. From this, we have seen the #Verzuz battles, where artists “battle” their favorite and best performing hits on Instagram live, Zoom Happy Hours, and birthday parades. We have adapted, in the best way we can, to try to find normalcy.

We, as humans, are not meant to be in constant isolation. It isn’t in our genetic makeup. While I enjoy living alone, I definitely miss my everyday interactions with my friends, students, sorority sisters, and colleagues. Going further, I miss grabbing a bite to eat after work or my favorite: going out to brunch on a Sunday afternoon. Since it does not seem like we will be returning to eating out in the way we used to know any time soon, I have found something that will stand in the gap...Read the rest HERE!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page